Dov Moran’s Speech at In-Novation 2008

TheMarker / IBM hosted a conference yesterday called In-Novation 2008 at Airport City Tel-Aviv whose morning guest speaker was Founder and CEO of modu Dov Moran.

Dov spoke about modu saying “The advantage modu has isn’t in its size. If you create a tiny phone, it’s a matter of time until a smaller phone gets produced, the advantage is in its modularity and it’s eco-system we are creating around it.” He had this to say about Innovation, “Innovation isn’t a solution to a users’ needs. It is a solution to a problem that users have not yet noticed they have or something that others thought was impossible to achieve..

I realized I needed to carry 2 phones with me, one large phone so that I can have all the features and functions I needed during the day and another slim phone for the evenings, while out jogging.” said Dov about how the idea of modu was born. 

More images of the event can be found on the modu Flickr page. If you were present at the event, post your thoughts on Dov’s speech in the comments!

3 Responses

  1. this is what am i thinking of now:

    “whan this little, tiny and modular thing that called modu comes out. i just must ask some one from modu compeny”

    ok so after all the thinking i have 1 little question:

    “whan this little, tiny and modular thing that called modu comes out !?!?!?!?!?!?!.”

  2. I wanted to ask some questions but there was no time, just for 2-3 questions.

  3. In reference to:
    “I realized I needed to carry 2 phones with me, one large phone so that I can have all the features and functions I needed during the day and another slim phone for the evenings, while out jogging.”

    I absolutely agree. However I’m still paying 200 dollars for a device that is limited in Modu.

    In today’s market – why not buy a “complete package” smartphone for $200 that won’t require buying more extensions again and a small phone to jog with for $50 ( I just saw many of those at Nokia) ?

    Modu doesn’t seem to offer anything that switching SIM cards or even Bluetooth don’t offer…

Leave a Reply

